What I would share with the students about studying abroad

Memphis Meng
8 min readDec 20, 2020

Trade war, COVID-19, and all other stuff that I met expectedly or unexpectedly during my journey as a foreign student

Photo by frank mckenna on Unsplash

The moment when I clicked to submit my answer to the “final” final exam, my life at Boston University unofficially came to the end (because our diploma certifies officially that I complete this program one month later :0). So did my career as a student. Generally speaking, this is a bittersweet experience for me as a foreign student in the United States where so many issues went out of my control while I gained a plethora of pleasure as well. In this story, I am just going to share something that I learned, or at least have experienced on this land.

Don’t try too hard.

I had never cared so much about money before I went to America. I still remember the discussion about the monthly budget with my pals in my first semester as a college student. And my argument kept being like: “ why is there a budget?”

Yes, I had no worries about the expense at that time due to the fact that I had that kind of parents who always worried that I had a financial shortage. So I easily bought whatever I thought my exes would want to please them or had a shopping weekend on a monthly basis when the only theme was cutting off my deposit. Part-time jobs? Never, not…

--

--